top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRoxanne Reynolds

Qualitative Research On Intersectionality in Art

I conducted a qualitative data survey to find out what other people's opinions and ideas were about feminism and intersectionality.


19 people ended up taking my survey. These are the results of the Demographics in my survey. 68% of the participants were in their 20's and the rest were above that margin. There were slightly more men that answered the survey, and 84% of the total people who answered the survey were white. Everyone who answered had some level of college experience, but most of the participants had a bachelors.














For this first question, I wanted to lay down a basic idea of what everyone's knowledge in feminism was. As you can see, everyone seems to have a good understanding. Below is the breakdown of gender and education with the same question. I wanted to see if there was a difference in answers based on someone's gender and education.


After that, the next question was a bit more biased, asking how they felt about feminism. I wanted to see the people who felt very strongly for feminism and what their photo's they chose compared to people who didn't feel as strongly to feminism and what photo's they chose.






The next questions are about intersectionality and the participants range of knowledge about it. For this one, half did not now anything about intersectionality, but they seemed to guess at the safe answer of "3" that it was somewhat important to feminism. This gave me more of an insight to what people actually know about intersectionality.








I asked what photos they thought fit best for feminism, and these were the top ranked photos.






Then I asked what photos fit best for intersectionality in their opinion. These are the top ranking photos picked.

















Lastly for picking photos, I asked them which ones they thought were the most impactful, and these were the top photos chosen





Based off of these answers, I realized that people liked the posters with more words in them. The words being used were always blunt and straight to the point as well. They liked portrait-type photos, with monochromatic and complimentary colors. The women are all cartoonized, and good composition, with movement to keep your eyes going.


After this I can start making more sketches with better ideas of drawings to some of the saying that I already have. The "We are sisters, We Resist" is powerful, but maybe needs to be presented in a different way, like with a woman and graphic colors to make your eyes actually look and read it.




At the end I put a space for input, and final thoughts and these were the comments




  • "I love the art 😍"

  • "You are gonna kill it, I can’t wait for you to explain this all too me. I think the posters were very good pics, enough diversity to explain what you are talking about and who."

  • "I love all the posters"

  • "did I do ok?"

  • "I wish I knew more about intersectionality, TEACH ME ROX"

  • "I am aware of two different kinds of “feminism” as to my understanding. One where men should all die and one where women want equal treatment and fairness. The second I believe in and my responses reflect that belief."

  • "Fighting for all the women seems very important when it comes to feminism if you are choosing a subset of people or problems then you are being partial to what or who you like."

  • "You need more Asian and Hispanic women"

I think the best advice was that there needs to be more Asian and Hispanic Women, especially if I want to focus on intersectionality. I also think I need to add more disabled, and LGBTQ if I want to actually capture what intersectionality means.





9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page